Academic Senate

Back to SBCC
Students in desks in a classroom

Welcome to the Academic Senate

The Academic Senate at SBCC follows the guidance of the statewide Academic Senate for California Community Colleges, which strives to promote the effective participation in their colleges’ decision making in academic and professional matters. These matters are widely known as the “ten plus one”, and are locally specified in SBCC’s Board Policy 2510, following Title 5, Sections 53200-53206.

Academic and professional matters include:

  • Curriculum, including the establishment of prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  • Degree and certificate requirements
  • Grading policies
  • Educational program development
  • Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  • District and College governance structures as related to faculty roles
  • Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  • Policies for faculty professional development activities
  • Processes for program review
  • Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  • Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

In addition, the consultation will include faculty hiring processes.

The work of the Academic Senate is made possible by the dedication of numerous faculty, namely senators, committee chairs and members of senate committees. Our College serves our students better because of the participation of our college faculty in the institutional decision making.

For any Academic Senate concerns, please contact me at 805-965-0581 ext. 3619  or Anita Cole, (805) 965 0581, ext 2217,

Priscilla Butler, President

President: Priscilla Butler 805-965-0581 x3619
Executive Vice President: Educational Programs: Paul Jarrell
ASG Representative: David Panbehchi
Secretary: Anita Cole x2217

Cornelia Alsheimer Business Education
Stan Bursten Social Sciences
Stephen DaVega Fine Arts
Russell Granger Technologies
Christopher Grant Adjunct Faculty
Dolores Howard School of Modern Languages/(ESL)
Jennifer Maupin Sciences
Melissa Menendez English
Raeanne Napoleon Sciences
Kathleen O'Connor Physical Education, Health, Dance, Athletics
Anna Parmely Mathematics
Trudy Ryan
Health and Human Services
Gwyer Schuyler Educational Support
Julie Smith Health and Human Services
Patricia Stark President-Elect
Danielle Swiontek Social Sciences
Christopher Ulivo Fine Arts
Laurie Vasquez Educational Support and Vice President 
Eileen Vlcek-Scamahorn English



Back to topBack to top

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2018 Santa Barbara City College