header image

Serving Our Campus Community

Staff Recognition

Outstanding Classified Employee of the Year

The criteria for selection is based upon an employee’s outstanding service to the Santa Barbara City College campus community. Relevant activities include serving on campus committees, involvement in community service, participation in professional and personal growth classes and workshops, professional organizations and volunteer commitments.

Emma Cruz

2021 Outstanding Classified Employee of the Year
Emma Cruz

Administrative Assistant for the School of Extended Learning

2021 Outstanding Classified Honorable Mentions:

MaryLou Huerta, Student Success Coordinator, Enrollment Services
Kevin McNichol, Earth and Planetary Science Lab/Field Technician, Earth and Planetary Science/Geography
Jeff Santarosa, Athletic Program Assistant, Athletics
Sara Volle, Assessment Coordinator, Enrollment Services

Orin Fails

2020 Classified Employee of the Year
Orin Fails

Technical Services Specialist, User Support

2020 Outstanding Classified Honorable Mentions:

Cristina Garcia Otero, Administrative Assistant II, Educational Programs
Diego Ramirez, Laboratory Technician Assistant, Physical Health Education
Lidiana Saldana, Admissions Specialist, Wake Campus
Noel Gomez, Student Program Advisor, EOPS

Maria Luisa Ramirez

2019 Classified Employee of the Year
Maria Luisa Ramirez
Facilities Assistant in the Facilities and Operations

2019 Outstanding Classified Honorable Mentions:

Roberto Lopez Carillo, Culinary Arts Lab Teaching Assistant  
Karen Shannon, Faculty Resource Center Senior Development Specialist 
Allison Chapin, Math Department Lab Teaching Assistant 
Jose "Pepe" Acosota, Maintenance Technician 

(Pictured from left to right: Dr. Pamela Ralston, Maria Luisa Ramirez, Liz Auchincloss)


outstanding employees 2018

2018 Outstanding Classified Employee of the Year:
Sherie Higgins, Administrative Assistant II to the 
Dean of Educational Programs - Career Technologies

2018 Outstanding Classified Honorable Mentions:

Victor Bryant, Catalog/Schedule Specialist, Scheduling Office
Jason Levy, Tutorial Center Coordinator
Jeff Barnes, Technology Specialist, Faculty Resource Center
Regina Reese, Lab Teaching Assistant, Learning Resources Center 

(Pictured from left to right: Jeff Barnes, Regina Reese, Sherie Higgins, Jason Levy and Victor Bryant)


Josue Miranda

2017 Classified Employee of the Year
Josue Miranda, LTA Automotive Services

2017 Classified Honorable Mentions:

Loretta Chapin, Program System Support Specialist 
Christina Lomeli, Student Program Advisor, Dual Enrollment Program
Bianca Waaler, Admissions and Records Technician 
Lorraine Valenzuela, Security Coordinator

Past Recipients

  • 2016    Robert Brown, Faculty Resource Center
    2015    Jesse Felix, Community Services
    2014    Elizabeth Stein, Career Tech
    2013    Raquel Alvarado, ESL
    2012    Argelia Aguilera, CE - Wake
    2011    Olga Gonzales, Information Technology
    2010    Arnold "Dave" Gowans, Computer Science

  • 2009    Leilani Browne, Human Resources
    2008    Rosemary Santillan, International Students
    2007    Richard Macabio, Auxiliary Accounts
    2006    Shar-Lynn Timm, Human Resources
    2005    Sandy Allain, School of Culinary Arts
    2004    Jason Thornell, Information Technology
    2003    Patty Ontiveros, Telephone/Mail
    2002    Chris Miller, Duplicating
    2001    Madeline Burridge, Health & Wellness
    2000    Margaret Okinaka, Accounting

  • 1999    Deanna Gregg, English / Math
    1998    Anita Bradford, Information Technology
    1997    Stella Castellanos, Human Resources
    1996    Bill Regis, Library
    1995    Carlos Ramirez , Security
    1994    Bill Hull, Biology
    1993    J.P. Dupart, Facilities & Operations
    1992    Don Ion , Physics
    1991    Alma Leadbetter, President's Office
    1990    Helen Wilden, Bookstore

  • 1989    Jane Marsh, Business Services
    1988    Peter Raschke, Drama/Music
    1987    Nancy Hull, Chemistry
    1986    Merv Kerr, CE-Facilities & Operations
    1985    Barbara Armstong, Business Office
    1984    Rob Reilly, Information Office
    1983    Bill Harz, Earth Science