

Accreditation Update

September 2020

Context: In 2014, the Accrediting Commision for Junior and Community Colleges (ACCJC) revised its standards and eligibility requirements. The ACCJC oversees colleges' compliance with Eligibility Requirements, Accreditation Standards, Commission Policies, and Federal Requirements. In addition to setting the benchmarks for institutional quality, meeting these requirements makes the college eligible to receive Title IV Federal Financial Aid.

Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER): An important purpose of the ISER is to provide a written analysis of strengths and weaknesses of educational quality and institutional effectiveness based on the institution's continuous evaluation and quality improvement.

The ISER documents the institution's current and sustained compliance with Commission Standards. The Report includes improvement plans including timelines and outcomes for that work. Self-identified improvement plans will be integrated into planning processes of the institution for implementation and follow-up. This work is led by a steering committee, comprised of administrators, faculty and classified professionals.

Progress: We are presenting a working draft of the ISER of the standards. This work has led us to the next steps, which include the planning for improvement and the Quality Focus Essay.

Feedback Opportunities: A survey tool will be shared college-wide for people to offer feedback on the report as a whole or on specific items of interest. The steering committee will be hosting an online webinar to present information about the report and directions on how to use the survey tool.

Steering Committee: The purpose of the Steering Committee is to serve the college as the guiding work team for gathering evidence in support of the college's capacity to meet and exceed accreditation standards, and to work together to develop plans for improvement if standards are not yet met.

Membership:

<u>Co-Chairs</u>--Accreditation Liaison Officer Pamela Ralston

Faculty Lead: Patricia Stark

Liz Auchincloss Beth Taylor Schott Elizabeth Imhof Lyndsay Maas Ruth Morales Loren Mindell Raeanne Napoleon Dean Nevins	Classified Professional Classified Professional Faculty/Administratio n Administration Faculty Classified Professional Faculty	Z Reisz Luz Reyes-Martin Melanie Rogers Gwyer Schuyler Michael Shanahan Carola Smith Laurie Vasquez James Zavas	Administration Administration Classified Professional Faculty Administration Administration Faculty Administration
Raeanne Napoleon Dean Nevins	Classified Professional Faculty		
Joshua Ramirez	Administration Faculty		