Disabled Student Programs and Services (DSPS)

Back to SBCC

Welcome to DSPS

Directors Welcome

Dear Student:

Welcome to Santa Barbara City College and Disabled Student Programs and Services (DSPS).

We are committed to creating an accessible learning community where individuals with disabilities have an equal opportunity to pursue their educational goals. We strive to empower students, foster independence, and promote achievement through self-advocacy.

DSPS is responsible for arranging reasonable accommodations for all qualified students with a documented disability. The process for obtaining reasonable accommodations is an interactive one that begins with the student’s disclosure of his/her disability. 

We look forward to supporting your success!

Jana Garnett
Director DSPS    


For general questions and inquiries, please contact dspshelp@sbcc.edu so we can be sure your questions are routed to the appropriate specialist.


DSPS Faculty

Jana Garnett JMGarnett@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Director x4165
Linda Beers LaBeers2@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
LD Specialist x8755
Lesley-Anne Taylor lataylor7@pipeline.sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
LD Specialist x4174
Janet Hose jhose@pipeline.sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
LD Specialist x4143
Michele Britton Bass  Mbbass@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Counselor x5193 
Clark Hochstetler  cahochstetler@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Counselor  x4163
Laurie Vasquez Vasquez@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Assistive Technologies Specialist  x2529

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2016 Santa Barbara City College